Everdark


Abi Elpinstone's imagination is breathtaking. I got swept up in the magic and devoured Everdark in one sitting!


In an island woven in magic and wonder, where sea dragons stir in the depths of the ocean, silver whales surface beneath the moon and sand goblins line the shores but a harpy surges up the forests of Everdark bent on stealing Crackledawn’s magic. As a curse looms over the Unmapped Kingdoms it's up fearless and kind heroine, Smudge, and her utterly brilliant and eccentric sidekick Bartholomew - a no-nonsense yet extremely loyal white nosed monkey, to set sail beyond the legendary Northswirl and stop the harpy before it’s too late.


A magical buzz surges across each page and Elphinstone effortlessly draws the reader into her enchanting world. Adventure packed and fast-paced, even the most reluctant of readers will get sucked into Smudge's journey! With inspiring messages about self-belief, unlikely friendships and the power of never giving up, Everdark is the perfect book to get lost in and fall in love with.


Everdark is the first, short adventure to the promising new series, The Unmapped Chronicle, which will start with Rumplestar, out May 2019. Perfect for fans of Sarah Driver's The Huntress trilogy, Michelle Harrison and Kiran Millwood Hargrave!


'Adventures are unpredictable and often terribly badly behaved – a bit like pickled onions if you’ve ever tried to fork one on a plate – but they have a way of unlocking people and turning them upside down so that all the astonishing things fizzing around inside them start to tumble out…’ Eleven-year-old Casper Tock hates risks, is allergic to adventures and shudders at the thought of unpredictable events. So, it comes as a nasty shock to him when he accidentally stumbles into Rumblestar, an Unmapped Kingdom full of magical beasts. All Casper wants is to find a way home, but Rumblestar is in trouble. An evil harpy called Morg is sending her followers, the Midnights, into the kingdom to wreak havoc and pave the way for her to steal the Unmapped magic for herself. But Casper cannot turn a blind eye because the future of his own world, he discovers, is bound up with that of the Unmapped Kingdoms.  And so, together with Utterly Thankless, a girl who hates rules and is allergic to behaving, and her miniature dragon, Arlo, Casper embarks upon an adventure full of cloud giants, storm ogres and drizzle hags. Can he, Utterly and Arlo, the unlikeliest of heroes, save the Unmapped Kingdoms and our world from the clutches of Morg and her Midnights?


Pre-order Rumplestar via Amazon here!

Instagram

  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle

© 2020 Bluebird Reviews