Salt to the sea

Updated: Sep 7, 2018


Ruta Sepetys, for me personally, is the Queen of YA historical fiction, and her inspiring novel, Salt to the Sea, without a doubt justifies that. In this emotionally gripping read Sepetys draws on the true event behind the sinking of the German military transport ship, the Wilhelm Gustloff, in 1945 - over 9000 civilian refugees on board, including women and children, perished in the sea. Told from the perspective of four fascinating characters, each different ages, from different background but all desperate to flee Germany by any means, even if this is by a dangerous overcrowded vessel in a Baltic port.. Driven and haunted by their own dark secrets, Sepetys weaves together four unforgettable stories into one captivating account. While at times the constant back and forth between each character narrative made me feel a little distant from the characters and somewhat emotionally disconnected, I nevertheless cannot flaw Sepetys’ pure skill at creating such vivid and interesting protagonists. Personal, moving and a deserved winner of the 2017 CILIP Carnegie Medal, Salt to the Sea is a must read for both teens and adults. Perfect for fans of Markus Zusak’s exceptional novel, The Book Thief.


You can find the book via these links

Amazon https://www.amazon.co.uk/Salt-Sea-Ruta-Sepetys/dp/0141347406/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1520951825&sr=8-1&keywords=salt+to+the+sea+by+ruta+sepetys


Waterstones https://www.waterstones.com/book/salt-to-the-sea/ruta-sepetys/matt-jones/9780141347400


Salt to the Sea • Ruta Sepetys • Penguin • Penguin Random House • Penguin Teen

© 2018 Bluebird Reviews

Instagram

  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle

© 2020 Bluebird Reviews